The University of Texas at Austin

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Biological Sciences is Evolving

In Fall 2013, three new biology departments - Department of Integrative Biology, Department of Molecular Biosciences, and "Department of Neuroscience - were officially instated in the College of Natural Sciences at The University of Texas at Austin.

The departments were created to reflect the changing field of biology, as greater connections emerge between biology and computer science, mathematics, engineering and physics, and to promote innovation in biology research and education.

The faculty and staff associated with the three new departments were previously part of the School of Biological Sciences, which has been dissolved.

A unit called the Biology Instructional Office has been created to support undergraduate biology education, which spans the three new departments.

October 2, 2pm at NHB 1.720

Ruben Tovar
October 6, 12pm at NHB 1.720

Dr. Jack Sites, Brigham Young University
October 9, 2pm at NHB 1.720

Dr. Anna Dornhaus, University of Arizona
October 13, 12pm at NHB 1.720

Dr. Marcos Gridi-Papp, University of the Pacific
October 16, 2pm at NHB 1.720

more events...